RSS

Poverty

27 Nov

I’ve been reading yet another new book. How many do I have on my bedside table? Too many! Sometimes I think a kindle or a nook or some such gadget would be a good purchase for me. I could switch between the five books I’m reading at any one time with ease and I’d have nothing on the table other than my kindle/nook, reading glasses and my phone on my bedside table. I just can’t convince myself the expense is worth it.

So the newest resident on the table is When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor and Yourself by Steve Corbett & Brian Fikkert. I’ve been reading this book in light of my husband’s recent trip to Haiti and our desire to help in some way there. Last night, I began chapter two and a quote from Voices of the Poor: Can Anyone Hear Us was very striking in it’s effect. Voices of the Poor is a three-volume set which is the outcome of a study which the World Bank did in late 1999 and 2000. These are the words one poor person in Moldova used to describe their situation.

“For a poor person everything is terrible – illness, humiliation, shame. We are cripples; we are afraid of everything; we depend on everyone. No one needs us. We are like garbage that everyone wants to get rid of.”

This quote really bothered me. So much so, I stopped and read it to my husband. His voice said essentially the same thing I was thinking. “Why do I need a person from Haiti?”

Interesting question, isn’t it? I would venture to say that everyone I know can come up with a reason the poor need us. But why do we need them?

Muse on that for a while…

Why or how do I need the poor?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Poverty

  1. nataliesmusings

    November 27, 2010 at 9:13 pm

     
  2. Brian

    November 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I need a person from Haiti because God created that person and His image is in that person. No man is an island. Each one of us is part of God’s design and if we performed together as intended we’d bless each other continually. I suppose that will be what it’s like in Heaven.

     

Leave a Reply

 
