RSS

I’m Choosing to Delight in Weakness

12 Apr

2 Cor 12:10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

For most of my adult life, I have despised my weakness. I hate to cry, I hate depending on others, I hate feeling out of control and I hate feeling powerless.  Probably, I have hated them because in elementary school and junior high that’s how I felt most of the time – weak, powerless. But the problem with despising my own weakness, is that this does not allow God’s power to be made perfect in my life.  I leave no room for his power, because I’m working so hard on my own.

In verse 9, Paul writes, “But he [Christ] said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest in me.” It’s hard to imagine boasting about my weaknesses when my gut instinct is to deny, deny, deny them. But as a colleague of mine said recently in a discussion of leadership, people who know me already know what they are.

I’ve had a couple lessons that revealed my weakness and powerlessness recently and they aren’t lessons I really want to repeat. I’d rather admit now that I am weak than to wait for the more difficult lessons to come.

Yesterday afternoon, I was praying that I would learn humility the easy way without having to be humbled.

Today, I am praying for the willingness to delight in my weakness, because it is through my weakness that Christ’s power is manifested in my life and he is glorified.

 

What are you choosing to delight in?

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in faith, leadership

 

Leave a Reply

 
