RSS

The Narrow Road

20 Apr

Today’s reading: I Sam 23, Psalms 31 and 54, Matt 7

My choice of which verse to write on led me to two other passages and the combination of the three is what I will be musing on as I go throughout the week in preparation for Good Friday and Easter. I hope you’ll muse with me.

Matt 7:13  Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction and many enter it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

Matt 5:6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness for they will be filled.

Philippians 3:8-11 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ — the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith. I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.

Philippians 3:12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.

If you are not already on the narrow path, hungering and thirsting after the righteousness that only comes through faith in Christ Jesus, I pray that you will join me on it this Easter season.  May we press on together to a deeper knowledge of Jesus and the power of his resurrection. May we become more and more like him with each step on that path.

If you are in the St. Louis/St. Charles, MO area and are looking for Good Friday and Easter services, please join me at one of Calvary Church’s services.  www.calvaryonline.cc/easter

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
