RSS

Pruning

09 Aug

Today’s verses: Jeremiah 1:9-10 Then the LORD reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth. See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”

God gave Jeremiah the power to be his audible voice for the purpose of correcting Israel. In Jeremiah 2, the Lord lists all that is wrong in Israel. They are no longer listening to his voice, they do not remember all that he has done for them and they have allowed themselves to be polluted by the worship of false gods.

As I read this this morning, I kept visualizing a garden which has become overgrown, filled with weeds and is no longer producing the fruit it once did. Jeremiah will be like the gardener who takes over the plot and begins to prune, pull weeds and plant.

So how does my garden grow? Am I in need of a new gardener? And if so, who will I allow to prune me so that the garden of my life is a showplace for God’s glory?

If I am to be a gardener, may it always be with God’s words in my mouth and for his glory.

How does your garden grow?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Bible Study, leadership, weight management

 

One response to “Pruning

  1. Zebra Princess H-EDS

    August 9, 2011 at 8:32 am

    How interesting…my Bible study time this morning dealt with growing the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:16-25!) Certainly seems as though God’s wanting to do a work in both of our lives. Good word, Natalie!

     

Leave a Reply

 
