RSS

Keep Calm and….

15 Apr

You’ve seen these little quotes, probably everywhere! I know I have. Apparently, it began as a propaganda slogan in Britain at the beginning of the second world war.  If you want to read more about it click here.  Anyway, my mind has been kind of stuck on it as a result of my bible study this morning.

I’ve been studying 1 Thessalonians with a group of other women and today I was writing about 1 Thess 4:9-12. Here’s the text.

1 Thessalonians 4:9-12

New Living Translation (NLT)

But we don’t need to write to you about the importance of loving each other,[a] for God himself has taught you to love one another. 10 Indeed, you already show your love for all the believers[b] throughout Macedonia. Even so, dear brothers and sisters, we urge you to love them even more.

11 Make it your goal to live a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands, just as we instructed you before. 12 Then people who are not Christians will respect the way you live, and you will not need to depend on others.

So I was pondering on Paul’s meaning when he said “Live a quiet life”, because mine is definitely anything but quiet!  What did he really mean?  So I looked up several other translations of verse 11.  Here’s the one from The Message version:

11-12 Stay calm; mind your own business; do your own job. You’ve heard all this from us before, but a reminder never hurts. We want you living in a way that will command the respect of outsiders, not lying around sponging off your friends.

Obviously this is where the Keep Calm and…. came into play.  I had to laugh at the thought of a sign that would read like this one:

1155472

 

Ok, now that I have that out of my system, I can focus on the real thing I learned from my studying this morning.  How many people do I know that stay calm? I’m often found running around like the proverbial chicken with its head removed?  I’m often hassled, harried, stressed as is most of the world.  What would my life speak to others if I were able to stay calm?  I know if I were outside looking in on a mom with four adopted kids who somehow managed to keep calm even 75% of the time, I’d be asking how she would be doing it.

The fact is, I’m failing miserably at staying calm – at least on the inside.  I don’t know how many of those who see me regularly are noticing.  But if we read on to verse 12, the reason Paul commands us to do just that so that those who are not Christians who look at our lives will respect us.

If I do not have peace in my life, it’s not a life that someone else would respect or be drawn to.

I’m spending sometime in Psalm 119 in my study time as well and found this little gem.

v25 I lie in the dust, completely discouraged; revive me by your word.

For me, the key to staying calm is staying grounded in God’s word and lots of worship cds!

How do you stay calm when life is chaotic around you?

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in Bible Study, faith, kingdom living

 

Leave a Reply

 
